Judaism and Catholicism: conflicts, alliances, precedents

Judaism and Catholicism: conflicts, alliances, precedents
Judaism and Catholicism: conflicts, alliances, precedents Judaism and Catholicism: conflicts, alliances, precedents

Judaism and Catholicism: conflicts, alliances, precedents

Venue: Oktyabr cinema
Speakers: Ludmila Ulitskaya, Galina Zelenina, Yuri Tabak
 
This discussion will follow the “Jewish Cardinal” screening. It is open to its viewers only. 

Category: Educational

Description

“Jewish cardinal” is a film that tells about the destiny of Archbishop Lustiger, and about a crisis that a man encounters if he always has to keep choosing between two cultures equally close to his soul. What were relations between Catholicism and Judaism like throughout the centuries? What are they like today? Which precedents there were that resembled the Lustiger case? Yuri Tabak will answer these questions for the film’s viewers.
 
Ludmila Ulitskaya is a Russian writer and screenwriter. She was the first woman to receive the Russian Booker Prize. She has also received the National Big Book Prize. Her works have been translated into more than 25 languages. 
 
Yuri Tabak is a historian and religious expert, the author of several books and multiple articles that mainly explore the history of Jewish-Christian relations, Biblical themes, and Christian Inter-confessional relations. He is also a translator from English and French. 
 
Galina Zelenina is a historian, a Candidate of Historical Sciences, associate professor at RSUH, the author of books "From Judah’s Scepter to the Buffoon’s Club: Court Jews in Medieval Spain" (2007) and "Judaica Two. People of Renaissance" (2015), the editor of the volume of collected papers “Jews: Another History” (2013).

Иудаизм и католичество: борьба, союзы, прецеденты

Иудаизм и католичество: борьба, союзы, прецеденты
Иудаизм и католичество: борьба, союзы, прецеденты Иудаизм и католичество: борьба, союзы, прецеденты

Иудаизм и католичество: борьба, союзы, прецеденты

Площадка: Кинотеатр «Октябрь»
Спикеры: Людмила Улицкая, Галина Зеленина, Юрий Табак

Мероприятие доступно для зрителей, пришедших на показ фильма "Еврейский Кардинал"

Категория: Образовательные

Описание

Фильм "Еврейский Кардинал" рассказывает о судьбе архиепископа Люстиже — и драме человека, которому всё время приходится делать выбор между двумя близкими ему культурами. Как складывались отношения между католичеством и иудаизмом на протяжении веков? Каковы они сегодня? Какие схожие с "кейсом Люстиже" прецеденты существовали? Об этом пришедшим на фильм зрителями расскажет Юрий Табак.

Людмила Улицкая — российская писательница, сценарист. Первая женщина — лауреат премии «Русский Букер». Лауреат премии «Большая книга». Произведения Людмилы Улицкой переведены не менее, чем на 25 языков.

Юрий Табак — исследователь в религиозно-исторической области. Автор нескольких книг и многочисленных статей, главным образом связанных с историей иудейско-христианских отношений, библейской тематикой, межконфессиональными отношениями в христианстве. Переводчик с английского и французского языков.

Галина Зеленина — 
историк, к.и.н., доцент РГГУ, автор книг "От скипетра Иуды к жезлу шута: придворные евреи в средневековой Испании" (2007) и "Иудаика два: Ренессанс в лицах" (2015), составитель коллективной монографии "Евреи: другая история" (2013).