Q&A. Arbeit Macht Frei. The mystery of the inverted letter.

Q&A. Arbeit Macht Frei. The mystery of the inverted letter.
Q&A. Arbeit Macht Frei. The mystery of the inverted letter. Q&A. Arbeit Macht Frei. The mystery of the inverted letter.

Q&A. Arbeit Macht Frei. The mystery of the inverted letter.

Speakers: Amir Yatziv, Larisa Malyukova

Category: Specials

Description

The sign "Arbeit Macht Frei" is one of the main symbols of the Holocaust and of the terrors of the genocide. In 2006 it underwent conservation oversight because of how rusted it became. Two teams of metal workers who were manufacturing copies to replace the sign had no awareness of each other and were never in touch. Amir Yatziv has compared statements of both groups in his short documentary. Dialogue created by metal artists shows that the case of inverted letter B was essential to the process. As a result an intriguing story of different people was born. Amir Yatziv is going to talk about it with the audience.
 
Film screening and Q&A will be held in partnership with the Moscow International Experimental Film Festival
 
Moscow International Experimental Film Festival (MIEFF) is an international cultural and educational platform which focuses on works of filmmakers and video artists who create by going beyond established artistic practices. It aims to become a foundation for support and development of experimental films in Russia. The Festival showcases the diversity of modern cinematographic strategies that step outside classical film esthetic and tries to bring up a new generation of viewers who are open to embracing the unconventional, changing their point of view and experimenting. 
  • Amir Yatziv is a director, screenwriter, producer and IT specialist.
  • Larisa Malukova is a film critic, a screenwriter, a film reviewer for Novaya Gazeta, an expert jury member of The Ministry for Culture of Russia and the Cinema Foundation of Russia, a jury member of Russian International Film Festivals. 

About the film

Arbeit Macht Frei

Q&A."Арбайт Махт Фрай". Тайна перевернутой буквы

Q&A."Арбайт Махт Фрай". Тайна перевернутой буквы
Q&A."Арбайт Махт Фрай". Тайна перевернутой буквы Q&A."Арбайт Махт Фрай". Тайна перевернутой буквы

Q&A."Арбайт Махт Фрай". Тайна перевернутой буквы

Спикеры: Амир Яцив

Категория: Специальные

Где и когда

19 июня 20:40, Еврейский музей и центр толерантности

Описание

Надпись "Arbeit Macht Frei" - главный символ Холокоста и ужаса геноцида. К 2006 году надпись изрядно проржавела и подлежала ремонту. Две команды металлургов, работавших над изготовлением копии, не были знакомы и не имели контакта между собой. Амир Яцив в своем коротком документальном фильме сравнил высказывания обеих групп. Диалог, созданный художниками, показал, что существенным для процесса был случай перевернутой буквы "B". В результате родилась интригующая история людей... О ней продробно расскажет Амир Яцив.

Показ фильма и обсуждение пройдет совместно с Международным Фестивалем Экспериментального Кино.

Международный Фестиваль Экспериментального Кино (MIEFF)– это международная культурно-образова­тельная платформа, она фокусируется на работах кинематографистов и видеохудож­ников, создающих на стыке художественных практик; стремится стать основой для развития и поддержки экспериментальных фильмов в России. Фестиваль представляет многообразие современных кинематографических стратегий, выходящих за рамки классической киноэстетики и стремится воспитать новое поколение зрителей, готовых открыто принимать непривычное, менять угол зрения и экспериментировать.

  • Амир Яцив – режиссер, продюсер, сценарист, специалист в области IT
  • Лариса Малюкова – кинокритик, сценарист, кинообозреватель «Новой газеты», член экспертных жюри Министерства культуры и Фонда поддержки кинематографа, член жюри отечественных международных кинофестивалей.

Вокруг фильма

Арбайт Махт Фрай